For updated office hours, please click here
to go to the Department Directory.


Tenure-Track Faculty


Dr. Krzysztof Slowinski Dr. Krzysztof Slowinski
Professor (2001)
& Department Chair

Analytical, Physical, & Biophysical
Teaching: Analytical & introductory chemistry
Contact: krzysztof.slowinski@csulb.edu, 562.985.5897
Office: HSCI-370A/350
Department office information

Dr. Christopher Brazier Dr. Christopher Brazier
Professor & Associate Chair (2001)
General Chemistry Program Coordinator

Physical Chemistry
Teaching: Physical chemistry & laboratory
Contact: chris.brazier@csulb.edu, 562.985.2115
Office: HSCI-362

Dr. Paul Weers Dr. Paul Weers
Associate Professor (2003)
and Biochemistry Graduate Advisor

Biochemistry & Structural Biology
Teaching: Graduate & undergraduate biochemistry
Contact: paul.weers@csulb.edu, 562.985.4948
Office: MLSC-250

Dr. Douglas McAbee Dr. Douglas McAbee
Professor (1997) and Undergraduate Advisor

Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Cell Membranes
Advising: CNSM-ChemBiochemAdvising@csulb.edu
Teaching: Graduate & undergraduate biochemistry
Contact: douglas.mcabee@csulb.edu, 562.985.1558
Office: MLSC-249

Dr. Lijuan Li Dr. Lijuan Li
Professor (1998)
and Chemistry Graduate Advisor

Inorganic, Bioinorganic, & Nanomaterials
Teaching: Graduate & undergraduate inorganic chem
Contact: lijuan.li@csulb.edu, 562.985.5068
Office: MLSC-321



Dr. Roger A. Acey Dr. Roger A. Acey
Professor (1983)

Developmental Biochem & Molecular Immunology
Teaching: Graduate & undergraduate biochemistry
Contact: roger.acey@csulb.edu, 562.985.4945
Office: MLSC-234

Dr. Stuart R. Berryhill Dr. Stuart R. Berryhill
Professor (1979)

Organic Chemistry
Teaching: Organic chemistry & laboratory
Contact: stuart.berryhill@csulb.edu, 562.985.5275
Office: HSCI-364

Dr. Paul T. Buonora Dr. Paul T. Buonora
Professor (2000)

Synthetic Organic Chemistry and Catalysis
Teaching: Graduate & undergraduate organic chem
Contact: paul.buonora@csulb.edu, 562.985.4946
Office: MLSC-319

Dr. Shahab Derakhshan Dr. Shahab Derakhshan
Assistant Professor (2009)

Inorganic synthesis and Structure
Teaching: Inorganic & general chemistry
Contact: shahab.derakhshan@csulb.edu, 562.985.4865
Office: MLSC-338

Dr. Eric R. Marinez Dr. Eric R. Marinez
Associate Professor (2003)

Organic Chemistry
Teaching: Graduate & undergraduate organic chem
Contact: eric.marinez@csulb.edu, 562.985.7773
Office: MLSC-336

Dr. Kensaku Nakayama Dr. Kensaku Nakayama
Professor (1987)

Synthetic Organic Chemistry
Teaching: Organic chemistry & laboratory
Contact: kensaku.nakayama@csulb.edu, 562.985.4850
Office: HSCI-340

Dr. Michael P. Schramm Dr. Michael P. Schramm
Associate Professor (2007)

Supramolecular Chemistry & Molecular Recognition
Teaching: Graduate & undergraduate organic
Contact: michael.schramm@csulb.edu, 562.985.1866
Office: MLSC-335

Dr. Young-Seok Shon Dr. Young-Seok Shon
Professor (2006)

Macromolecular, Materials, & Nanoscience
Teaching: Graduate & undergraduate organic chem
Contact: ys.shon@csulb.edu, 562.985.4466
Office: MLSC-337

Dr. Eric J. Sorin Dr. Eric J. Sorin
Associate Professor (2007)

Computational Chemistry, Biochemistry & Biophysics
Teaching: Physical & computational chem/biochem
Contact: eric.sorin@csulb.edu, 562.985.7537
Office: MLSC-322

Dr. Dennis M. Anjo Dr. Dennis M. Anjo
Professor (1984)

Analytical & Electrochemistry
Teaching: Analytical & general chemistry
Contact: dennis.anjo@csulb.edu, 562.985.4844
Office: HSCI-348

Dr. Xianhui Bu Dr. Xianhui Bu
Associate Professor (2003)

Inorganic, Structural, Solid State, & Materials
Teaching: Graduate & undergraduate inorganic chem
Contact: xbu@csulb.edu, 562.985.4843
Office: MLSC-320

Dr. Jeffrey Cohlberg Dr. Jeffrey Cohlberg
Professor (1975)

Physical Biochemistry
Teaching: Graduate & undergraduate biochemistry
Contact: jeffrey.cohlberg@csulb.edu, 562.985.4944
Office: MLSC-233

Dr. Marco A. Lopez Dr. Marco A. Lopez
Professor (1987)

Organic & Fe(II) Porphyrin Chemistry
Teaching: Organic & general chemistry
Contact: marco.lopez@csulb.edu, 562.985.4936
Office: HSCI-342

Dr. Stephen Mezyk Dr. Stephen Mezyk
Professor (2001)

Physical, Environmental, & Biophysical Chemistry
Teaching: Physical & general chemistry
Contact: stephen.mezyk@csulb.edu, 562.985.4649
Office: HSCI-358

Dr. Vasanthy Narayanaswami Dr. Vasanthy Narayanaswami
Associate Professor (2008)

Biochemistry, Biophysics, Structural & Neurobiology
Teaching: Graduate & undergraduate biochemistry
Contact: vas.narayanaswami@csulb.edu, 562.985.4953
Office: MLSC-247

Dr. Jason Schwans Dr. Jason Schwans
Assistant Professor (2012)

Enzymology
Teaching: Organic and Biological Chemistry
Contact: jason.schwans@csulb.edu, 562.985.7778
Office: HSCI-354

Dr. Kasha Slowinska Dr. Kasha Slowinska
Associate Professor (2004)

Analytical, Bioanalytical, & Bioengineering
Teaching: Analytical chemistry
Contact: katarzyna.slowinska@csulb.edu, 562.985.5815
Office: MLSC-248

Dr. Enrico Tapavicza Dr. Enrico Tapavicza
Assistant Professor (2013)

Computational Chemistry & Materials Science
Teaching: Physical chemistry
Contact: TBA, TBA
Office: HSCI-350




Lecturers


Ms. Elaine Bernal
Ms. Elaine Bernal
Part-time Lecturer

Organic Chemistry, Chemical Communications
Contact: elaine.bernal@gmail.com, 562.985.2213
Office: HSCI-366

Dr. Inessa Bychinskaya
Dr. Inessa Bychinskaya
Part-time Lecturer

Introductory, General, & Organic Chemistry & Lab
Contact: inessa.bychinskaya@csulb.edu, 562-985-5251
Office: HSCI-352

Dr. Hosun Choo
Dr. Hosun Choo
Part-time Lecturer

Analytical and Physical Chemistry & Laboratory
Contact: hosun.choo@csulb.edu, 562.985.4908
Office: HSCI-344

Dr. Ron Garber
Dr. Ron Garber
Part-time Lecturer

General Chemistry & Laboratory
Contact: ragthedoc@aol.com, 562.985.4905
Office: HSCI-356

Mr. Tom Gufrey
Mr. Tom Gufrey
Part-time Lecturer

Introductory Chemistry
Contact: tgufrey@hotmail.com, 562.985.5251
Office: HSCI-352

Dr. Jean Lee-Lin
Dr. Jean Lee-Lin
Part-time Lecturer

Organic Chemistry Laboratory
Contact: jean.lee-lin@csulb.edu, 562.985.1311
Contact: HSCI-346

Mr. Garrett McKay
Mr. Garrett McKay
Part-time Lecturer

Introductory & General Chemistry
Contact: garrett.j.mckay@gmail.com
Office: HSCI-212

Dr. Christine Palmier
Dr. Christine Palmier
Part-time Lecturer

Biochem and Nutritional Biochem & Laboratory
Contact: christine.palmier@csulb.edu, 562.985.7874
Office: MLSC-117

Dr. Minoo Sedighi
Dr. Minoo Sedighi
Part-time Lecturer

Introductory, General, & Organic Chemistry
Contact: sedighi@chem.ucla.edu
Office: HSCI-210

Mr. Dominic Bosonetta
Mr. Dominic Bosonetta
Part-time Lecturer

Introductory & General Chemistry
Contact: dominic.bosonetta@csulb.edu, 562-985-1311
Office: HSCI-346

Ms. Andrea Chen
Ms. Andrea Chen
Full-time Lecturer

Introductory, General, Organic Chemistry & Lab
Contact: andrea.chen@csulb.edu, 562.985.2220
Office: HSCI-360

Mr. Thomas Cullen
Mr. Thomas Cullen
Part-time Lecturer

Introductory & General Chemistry, Quantitative Analysis
Contact: Tdcullen23@gmail.com
Office: MIC-003

Ms. Nancy Gardner
Ms. Nancy Gardner
Full-time Lecturer

General & Organic Chemistry, Chem. Communications
Contact: nancyjgardner@gmail.com, 562.985.4905
Office: HSCI-356

Mr. Thach Ho
Mr. Thach Ho
Full-time Lecturer

Quantitative Analysis and Organic Chemistry & Labs
Contact: thach.ho@csulb.edu, 562.985.4904
Office: MIC-203

Dr. Sunggon Lim
Dr. Sunggon Lim
Part-time Lecturer

Organic Chemistry & Laboratory
Contact: sunggon.lim@csulb.edu, 562-985-4908
Office: HSCI-344

Ms. Marjan Mohammadi
Ms. Marjan Mohammadi
Part-time Lecturer
General Chemistry & Quantitative Analysis
Contact: marjan.mohammadi@csulb.edu, 562.985.2220
Office: HSCI-360

Mr. Pat Pierce
Mr. Pat Pierce
Full-time Lecturer

Biochemistry & Laboratory
Contact: patrick.pierce@csulb.edu, 562.985.2213
Office: HSCI-366

Dr. Gary Shankweiler
Dr. Gary Shankweiler
Full-time Lecturer

Organic Chemistry & Laboratory
Contact: gary.shankweiler@csulb.edu, 562.985.4938
Office: MLSC-140